(Under Revision)


Date: 2023-02-21



National Taiwan University currently (2022 academic year) has 16 colleges, 3 professional schools, 58 departments (including 2 Bachelor’s degree programs), and 146 graduate institutes (including 34 Master’s and Doctoral degree programs). The colleges of NTU include the College of Liberal Arts, College of Sciences, College of Social Sciences, College of Medicine, College of Engineering, College of Bioresources and Agriculture, College of Management, College of Public Health, College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Law, College of Life Science, Graduate School of Advanced Technology, School of Professional Education and Continuing Studies, Stanley Wang D-School, International College, and the Center for General Education (a non-college educational department). The 3 professional schools of NTU include the School of Dentistry, School of Pharmacy, and the School of Veterinary Medicine.

University Motto

The university motto—Integrity, Diligence, Fidelity, and Compassion—was first articulated by President Ssu-Nien Fu at the ceremony marking NTU’s fourth anniversary in 1949. While President Fu, in his original speech, had encouraged NTU students “to study hard” (li xue), the present character for “Diligence” was later substituted with the homophonic, “to advance one’s intellect” (li xue), to inspire students to work diligently for academic advancement.

The motto “Integrity and Diligence” first appeared as an inscription when President Ssu-Liang Chien penned the words in person at the NTU Main Library in January, 1969. President Cheng-Hsing Yen later had the current eight-character motto put up in red characters on the facade of the NTU Gymnasium, where he also erected the bust of President Fu, the base of which bears our university motto.

University Emblem

Designed around the university name, motto, the Fu Bell, and our university tree, the royal palm, the NTU emblem holds profound significance. When President Chao-Chung Yu officially presented the emblem during the university’s anniversary ceremony on November 15, 1982, he made the following pronouncement:

National Taiwan University has long been known for its traditions, magnificent architecture, distinguished faculty, and well-equipped facilities. Over the years, its graduates have made tremendous contributions to both the nation and to society. In order to build on these valuable traditions and provide guidance to future generations, we have instilled the founding goals and philosophy of the school into the university emblem as inspiration to all faculty and students.

The university motto—Integrity, Diligence, Fidelity, and Compassion—stands as the cornerstone of the NTU philosophy and the standard of personal cultivation.

The Fu Bell serves as a reminder of personal discipline and unending enlightenment.

The royal palm tree symbolizes continuous growth, exceptional vision, and unwavering willpower.

The plum blossom silhouette incorporates the nation’s founding spirit and cultural traditions. The meanings embedded in the emblem are for all members of the NTU community to contemplate.

University Song

Prof. Kang-Po Shen penned the lyrics to the NTU University Song, while Dr. Yuen-Jen Chao composed its music. The translation of the lyrics go as follows:

The ambience of Taida, growth fresh and verdant,
The spirit of Taida, life vital and exuberant.
Viewed from afar, that Jade Mountain ascends through a sea of clouds,
The ideal emblem of our lofty ambition.
Viewed at our sides, the meandering Danshui, he rolls on, disregarding day and night,
The ideal vision of our indomitable way of life.
This indomitable way ensures we succeed in all our endeavors.

To view the musical score for the University Song and download MP3 files, please visit the National Taiwan University website.


NTU’s vast network of campuses is known for occupying approximately one percent of Taiwan’s total area. Besides the Main Campus, the university also operates the Shuiyuan Campus, Downtown Campus, Experimental Farm (Ankang), Experimental Forest, and Highland Experimental Farm. Campuses under development include the Chupei Campus, Yunlin Campus, and Yilan Marine Research Station.

Faculty Ethics

The NTU Faculty Ethics Committee drafted the Ethical Code for NTU Faculty Members with the aim of establishing values to which all faculty members share a personal willingness to aspire as well as a sense of propriety regarding teaching and research conduct. The code was approved at the first University Affairs Meeting of the second semester of the 1997/1998 academic year. The purpose of the code is to build consensus, establish common ethical standards, and promote a campus culture of self-awareness and self-discipline so as to truly maintain university autonomy and safeguard academic dignity. To view the Ethical Code for NTU Faculty Members in full, please visit the NTU Secretariat website.